Goodbye New Mexico and Hello Oregon!

Ever since I moved to New Mexico four years ago, everyone told me that chocolate and the desert do not mix. Although this is true for the most part, I think they forgot about such amenities as ice packs, air conditioners, and overnight delivery, which are formidable allies against the desert sun. As vital as they are, though, I had to say goodbye when I left New Mexico last week for overcast Oregon.

This part of Oregon is cool in temperature, frequently cloudy, and heavily wooded, which are all perfect for chocolate. So, although the climate is different the agenda remains the same: chocolate, chocolate, chocolate. Portland is only one hour north and Seattle another three hours, so I definitely plan to check out those scenes once I settle into a reliable routine.

Before I end this post, I want to mention that during the hustle and bustle of planning, packing, and moving, I managed to piece together an article that I should have posted in the next few days. But first, a few more boxes to unpack!

2 Responses to Goodbye New Mexico and Hello Oregon!

  1. Scott says:

    Portland’s a great town for chocolate. Chocosphere, Cacao, Meadows, Sahagun, Alma, DePaula, etc. Even the common gourmet markets seem to have Valrhona plantation bars, Cluizel, Pralus, et al. Enjoy!

  2. Hans-Peter says:

    Thanks for the tips, Scott. I actually found The Meadow online before coming out here, so I definitely want to check that place out. I haven’t had a chance to get out and explore yet, but I will soon enough.

Leave a Reply

